The Servoy Console, an open source tool from adBlocks

Post a link to the solution you created here

The Servoy Console, an open source tool from adBlocks

Postby mattfrizzell » Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:34 pm

The original Console was developed by one of our programmers, James Garfield, when he needed a tool for debugging when testing in Client rather than Developer and at the same time wanted to show off.

Since then we have found this tool indispensable for both programming and the remote service of our customers.

With this tool you can:

* run any method or evaluate any argument
* execute a SQL query including UPDATE and INSERT
* view the contents of any object
* watch the values of variables change
* display and browse the entire database schema
* check the database for duplicate values
* add your own functionality
* and much more!

All of this may be done in Developer or Client with simple command line statements, and, in some cases, such as ad hoc SQL queries, it is done more easily than if one had the Servoy Editor with the debugger open.

This open source code is built upon an extensible framework so that you may easily add your own functions, and although most of it is fairly straightforward, there is significant depth in the sections that build expanding and contracting html hierarchies using recursive logic. To browse this code, see the methods prefixed by the word "view".

Please be sure to read the license (license) to understand what we mean by "open source".

Enjoy!

http://www.adblocks.com/consulting/index.html
Matt Frizzell
adBlocks
www.adblocks.com
mattfrizzell
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 pm

Postby JapanDev » Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:30 am

My solution can't see it.

I followed the instructions. I imported the module fine. I added it as a module to my solution (it shows there) and made sure in the module that Type was was set to Module. It doesn't show up under Modules in my solution. Is it supposed to?

I don't see _console anywhere in the solution either.

I have imported modules before and they work in this solution fine.

My setup is as follows:

Japanese Windows XP

Servoy Developer
Version 3.5.2-build 515
Java version 1.6.0_03-b05 (Windows XP)

MySQL version 5.0.45-community-nt

MySQL-connector-java version 5.1.5

Thanks

Steve
User avatar
JapanDev
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Nagoya, Japan

Postby ROCLASI » Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:27 pm

Hi Steve,

Did you reload the main solution ? After adding modules they will only show up after you reload that solution.

Hope this helps.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4832
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Postby david » Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:35 pm

Thanks Matt! We use your original version ALL the time so we'll be checking this out. Indispensable for sure -- not sure how we would program without it now....
David Workman, Data Mosaic

Image
Everything you need to build great apps with Servoy
U.S. demo server
User avatar
david
 
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: Washington, D.C.

Postby JapanDev » Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:07 am

Hi Robert,

I had to make a new release and it showed up. I don't remember having to do this with other modules, but I haven't loaded one for awhile.

Thanks,

Steve
User avatar
JapanDev
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Nagoya, Japan

What a nice resource adBlocks!

Postby BDuncan » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:25 pm

Thanks for the community contribution!

James rocks, as usual.
BDuncan
 


Return to Ready-Made Solutions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest